Council elects chair and vice chair

Members of Denbighshire County Council have elected a new Chair and Vice Chair for the authority.

At a meeting held at County Hall, Ruthin today (Tuesday), Councillor Peter Prendergast of Rhyl was elected Chairman for the next year. His chosen charities for the year ahead will be the RNLI (Rhyl Branch) and St Kentigern’s Hospice.

Councillor Peter Scott of St Asaph was elected as Vice Chair.

Meanwhile the out-going Chair, Councillor Ann Davies of Rhuddlan presented a cheque totalling £11,028 that will be shared between her chosen charities - Ty Gobaith and St Kentigern’s Hospice. The money was raised during a year of fundraising activities. Eluned Yaxley from Ty Gobaith and Laura Parry from St Kentigern’s were present  at today’s meeting to receive their cheques and thanked the Council for the ‘absolutely wonderful and vital support’. 

Posted on Tuesday 23rd May 2017