How the council works

What does the council do?

We provide all kinds of services for the people of Denbighshire, for example:

  • bin collections
  • leisure centres 
  • libraries 
  • public transport 
  • looking after the roads 
  • housing 
  • social care 
  • schools

We also support local businesses, and provide information for the many tourists who visit Denbighshire each year.

How does it work?

The council has 47 councillors, representing 30 wards, and serving approximately 94,000 people. The last election was held in May 2017, and the next one will take place in 2022.

Full council meetings are held every month, and are attended by all 47 councillors. They discuss issues such as the council’s performance in delivering services, the setting of council tax, partnerships with other public services and the impact of government policy on residents of Denbighshire.


Cabinet is made up of 8 councillors, including the council leader and their deputy. Each of the 8 members has responsibility for a specific policy area, known as a portfolio.

Cabinet meet every six weeks to determine policy and make decisions on how services are provided in Denbighshire.

Scrutiny committees

There are 3 scrutiny committees, and their main roles are to give advice to the cabinet, and to review and challenge cabinet decisions. They also consider broad policy issues and make recommendations to the cabinet and council.

Other committees

There are also a number of formal committees which make decisions on specific areas, such as planning applications and licensing applications.

Find out more about committees .

Who is in charge?

Council Leader

The leader of the council is Councillor Hugh Evans. The leader is elected by full council, and has the job until the next election – usually a four-year period. The leader appoints the cabinet, and guides the political direction of the council.

Contact the leader

The deputy leader is Councillor Julian Thompson-Hill. His role is to support the leader in carrying out his duties, and to represent him in his absence.


The chairman of the council is Councillor Peter Scott. The chairman is elected by full council at an annual meeting in May, and has the job for one year. The chairman is politically impartial. He chairs meetings of the full council, and carries out a range of community and ceremonial duties.

Read the chairman’s blog

Contact the chairman

Chief Executive

Judith Greenhalgh is the Chief Executive. She has responsibility for the overall management of the authority. She is responsible for making sure that all the council’s policies are put into action. She represents the council through contact with the media, and provides a link between the council and other organisations.

Senior Leadership Team

The Senior Leadership Team includes:

  • the Chief Executive
  • two Corporate Directors
  • the Section 151 Officer
  • the Monitoring Officer
  • nine Heads of Service
You can see the structure of the Senior Leadership Team here.