County Council elections (local elections)

Denbighshire has 47 county councillors, representing 30 electoral divisions. county councillors are elected in county council elections, sometimes referred to as local elections. County council elections are held every five years.

Find a county councillor

County Councillor elections took place on Thursday 4th of May 2017.

View the county council election results

View the notice of election

View the Statement as to Persons Nominated

View the notice of Uncontested Elections

View the Notice of appointment of Election Agents

View the Notice of Poll

Download the timetable for local elections in England and Wales: 4 May 2017


To vote in a local council election you must be registered to vote, 18 years or over on polling day and also be one of the following:

  • a British citizen, a qualifying Commonwealth citizen, or a citizen of the European Union
  • resident in the UK
  • not be subject to any legal incapacity to vote

Find out how to register to vote

The following cannot vote in a local council election:

  • anyone other than British, qualifying Commonwealth or European Union citizens
  • convicted persons detained in pursuance of their sentences, excluding contempt of court (though remand prisoners, unconvicted prisoners and civil prisoners can vote if they are on the electoral register)
  • anyone found guilty within the previous five years of corrupt or illegal practices in connection with an election

Find a polling station

Important dates

The deadline to register to vote13 April 2017

The deadline to apply for a postal vote5pm 18 April 2017

The deadline to apply for a proxy vote5pm 25 April 2017