Mental health first aiders

The council has trained a number of Mental Health First Aiders, who will respond and support you in the event of a mental health crisis, or if you don’t feel comfortable talking to a member of your team about your issues.

If you or a colleague experiences any of the below, you can contact a Mental Health First Aider for support:

  • Experiencing a panic attack
  • Wanting to take your/their own life
  • Self-injuring/harming yourself/themselves
  • Experienced a traumatic event
  • Experiencing a psychotic state

Your mental health first aiders are:

Llinos Howatson
OD Specialist, Human Resources
Email: llinos.howatson@denbighshire.gov.uk

Louise Dougal
HR Services Manager, Human Resources
Email: louise.dougal@denbighshire.gov.uk

Emma Safhill
HR Team Manager, Human Resources
Email: emma.safhill@denbighshire.gov.uk

Andrea Malam
Lead OD Business Partner, Human Resources
Email: andrea.malam@denbighshire.gov.uk

Hilary Evans
HR Business Partner, Human Resources
Email: hilary.evans@denbighshire.gov.uk

Kerry Evans
HR Business Partner, Human Resources
Email: kerry.evans@denbighshire.gov.uk

Nerys Edwards
Assistant HR Business partner for schools, Human Resources
Email: nerys.edwards@denbighshire.gov.uk

Julie Phillips
Assistant HR Business for schools, Human Resources
Email: julie.phillips@denbighshire.gov.uk

Joanne Jones
HR Specialist, Human Resources
Email: jones.joanne@denbighshire.gov.uk

David Shephard
HR Specialist, Human Resources
Email: david.shephard@denbighshire.gov.uk

Felicity Chandler
OD Specialist, Human Resources
Email: felicity.chandler@denbighshire.gov.uk

Lindsey Duckett
OD Specialist, Human Resources
Email: lindsey.duckett@denbighshire.gov.uk

Rachel Evans
HR Specialist, Human Resources
Email: rachel.evans@denbighshire.gov.uk

Sophie Vaughan
OD Specialist, Human Resources 
Email: sophie.vaughan@denbighshire.gov.uk

Bridget Stokes
Unison Branch Secretary
Email: bridget.stokes@denbighshire.gov.uk

Shane Davies
Unison Rep, Streetscene
Email: shane.c.davies@denbighshire.gov.uk

John Berger
Unison Rep, Cefndy Healthcare - 01824 706005

Mark Williams
Street Lighting
Email: Mark.W.Williams@denbighshire.gov.uk

Joanne Ellis
Street Lighting
Email: joanne.ellis@denbighshire.gov.uk

Helen Dolan
Occupational Health and Attendance Advisor
Email: helen.dolan@denbighshire.gov.uk

Tina Foulkes
Working Denbighshire, Communities and Customers - 01824 712874
Email:  Tina.Foulkes@denbighshire.gov.uk

Sara Palmer
Passenger Transport, PPP - 01824 706879
Email: sara.palmer@denbighshire.gov.uk

Tony Ward
Head of Highways and Environmental Services - 01824 706397
Email: tony.ward@denbighshire.gov.uk

Rhiain Morrell
Education and Children’s Services - 01824 712267
Email: rhiain.morrlle@denbighshire.gov.uk

Gail Gerrard
Education and Children’s Services - 01824 712860
Email: Gail.Gerrard@denbighshire.gov.uk

Amy Selby
Strategic Planning, BIM - 01824 708018
Email: amy.selby@denbighshire.gov.uk

Nicola Kneale
Strategic Planning, BIM - 01824 708018
Email: nicola.kneale@denbighshire.gov.uk

Wendy Davies
Streetscene
Email: wendy.davies@denbighshire.gov.uk

Neil Jones
Streetscene
Email: Neil.Jones@denbighshire.gov.uk

Please call Human Resources on 01824 706200 or email hrdirect@denbighshire.gov.uk to speak to a mental health first aider.

If you are a member of a Trade Union, please speak to them directly as they also have a number of trained mental health first aiders.

Care first

Care first is designed to help you with a wide range of work, family and personal issues. The service is free of charge for you to use and you don't need to ask your manager to use it.

To contact Care first, please call 0800 174 319 or alternatively, access this service confidentially online at Care First: Lifestyle (external website)

Username and password details can be accessed via the Occupational Health page on the Intranet (LINC) or by asking your line manager, Occupational Health or Human Resources.


Mental Health First Aid Wales Logo Time To Change Wales Logo