Mental health first aiders

The council has trained a number of Mental Health First Aiders, who will respond and support you in the event of a mental health crisis, or if you don’t feel comfortable talking to a member of your team about your issues.

If you or a colleague experiences any of the below, you can contact a Mental Health First Aider for support:

  • Experiencing a panic attack
  • Wanting to take your/their own life
  • Self-injuring/harming yourself/themselves
  • Experienced a traumatic event
  • Experiencing a psychotic state 

Your mental health first aiders are:

Legal, HR and Democratic Services

Legal, HR and Democratic Services

Llinos Howatson
OD Specialist, Human Resources - 01824 706022
Email: llinos.howatson@denbighshire.gov.uk

Louise Dougal
HR Services Manager, Human Resources - 01824 712539
Email: louise.dougal@denbighshire.gov.uk

Emma Safhill
HR Team Manager, Human Resources - 01824 712644
Email: emma.safhill@denbighshire.gov.uk

Andrea Malam
Lead OD Business Partner, Human Resources - 01824 712544
Email: andrea.malam@denbighshire.gov.uk

Hilary Evans
HR Business Partner, Human Resources - 01824 712537
Email: hilary.evans@denbighshire.gov.uk

Kerry Evans
HR Business Partner, Human Resources - 01824 712443
Email: kerry.evans@denbighshire.gov.uk

Nerys Edwards
Assistant HR Business partner for schools, Human Resources - 01824 712538
Email: nerys.edwards@denbighshire.gov.uk

Julie Phillips
Assistant HR Business for schools, Human Resources - 01824 706219
Email: julie.phillips@denbighshire.gov.uk

Joanne Jones
HR Specialist, Human Resources - 01824 712534
Email: jones.joanne@denbighshire.gov.uk

Lindsey Duckett
OD Specialist, Human Resources - 01824 712545
Email: lindsey.duckett@denbighshire.gov.uk

Cerri-Ann Jones
OD Specialist, Human Resources - 01824 712647
Email: cerri-ann.jones@denbighshire.gov.uk

Rachel Evans
HR Specialist, Human Resources - 01824 712642
Email: rachel.evans@denbighshire.gov.uk

Paul Roberts
HR Specialist, Human Resources - 01824 712175
Email: paul.robertss@denbighshire.gov.uk

Sophie Vaughan
OD Specialist, Human Resources - 01824 712527
Email: sophie.vaughan@denbighshire.gov.uk

Miriam Kisby
OD Specialist, Human Resources - 01824 712542
Email: Miriam.Kisby@denbighshire.gov.uk

Liam Davies
HR Assistant, Human Resources - 01824 708067
Email: Liam.Davies@denbighshire.gov.uk

John Beagley
Principal Legal Officer, Legal - 01824 712555
Email: john.beagley@denbighshire.nwalescls.com

Clare Thomas
Solicitor, Legal - 01824 706210
Email: Clare.Thomas@denbighshire.gov.uk

Joanne Howes
Trainee Solicitor, Legal - 01824 706170
Email: Joanne.L.Howes@denbighshire.gov.uk

Helen Spafford
Community Benefits, Legal - 01824 706069
Email: Helen.Spafford@denbighshire.gov.uk

Business Improvement and Modernisation

Business Improvement and Modernisation

Amy Selby
Strategic Planning, BIM - 01824 708018
Email: amy.selby@denbighshire.gov.uk

Nicola Kneale
Strategic Planning, BIM - 01824 708018
Email: nicola.kneale@denbighshire.gov.uk

Maeve Puleston-Jones
Internal Audit, BIM - 01824 706774
Email: maeve.puleston-jones@denbighshire.gov.uk

Nikki Jones
Strategic Planning, BIM - 01824 706967
Email: nikki.jones@denbighshire.gov.uk

Communities and Customers

Communities and Customers

Sian Owen
Principal Officer – Communication, Marketing and Engagement - 01824 706125
Email: sian.owen@denbighshire.gov.uk

Melanie Evans
Working Denbighshire, Communities and Customers - 01824 712870
Email: melanie.a.evans@denbighshire.gov.uk

Tina Foulkes
Working Denbighshire, Communities and Customers - 01824 712874
Email: Tina.Foulkes@denbighshire.gov.uk

Eirlys Rawson
Working Denbighshire, Communities and Customers - 01824 706154
Email: Eirlys.Rawson@denbighshire.gov.uk

Education and Children’s Services

Education and Children’s Services

Geraint Davies
Head of Education - 01824 712645
Email: Geraint.Davies@denbighshire.gov.uk

Mari Gaskell
Principal Education Manager - 01824 708050
Email: mari.gaskell@denbighshire.gov.uk

James Curran
Principal Manager – School Support - 01824 706254
Email: james.curran@denbighshire.gov.uk

Rhiain Morrell
Education and Children’s Services - 01824 712267
Email: rhiain.morrlle@denbighshire.gov.uk

Gail Gerrard
Education and Children’s Services - 01824 712860
Email: Gail.Gerrard@denbighshire.gov.uk

Ceri Probert
Inclusion Service & Business Support - 01824 712605
Email: Ceri.Probert@denbighshire.gov.uk

Finance and Property

Finance and Property

Mark Cassidy
Property - 01824 706808
Email: Mark.Cassidy@denbighshire.gov.uk

Gareth Hallett
Property - 01824 706837
Email: gareth.hallett@denbighshire.gov.uk

Lucy Stokes
Property - 01824 706975
Email: lucy.stokes@denbighshire.gov.uk

Highways and Environmental Services

Highways and Environmental Services

Tony Ward
Head of Highways and Environmental Services - 01824 706397
Email: tony.ward@denbighshire.gov.uk

Wendy Davies
Streetscene
Email: wendy.davies@denbighshire.gov.uk

Neil Jones
Streetscene
Email: Neil.Jones@denbighshire.gov.uk

Joanne Ellis
Street Lighting
Email: joanne.ellis@denbighshire.gov.uk

Hayley Jones
Catering and Cleaning - 01824 712131
Email: hayley.jones@denbighshire.gov.uk

John Wood
Site Supervisor - 01824 706198
Email: john.wood@denbighshire.gov.uk

Occupational Health

Occupational Health

Alana Nicandros
Occupational Health and Wellbeing Advisor - 01824 712523
Email: Alana.Nicandros@denbighshire.gov.uk

Planning, Public Protection and Countryside

Planning, Public Protection and Countryside

Sara Palmer
Passenger Transport - 01824 706879
Email: sara.palmer@denbighshire.gov.uk

Katrina Day
Countryside - 01824 708396
Email: katrina.day@denbighshire.gov.uk

Trade Unions

Trade Unions

If you are a member of a Trade Union, please speak to them directly as they also have a number of trained mental health first aiders.

Bridget Stokes
Unison Branch Secretary
Email: bridget.stokes@denbighshire.gov.uk

Shane Davies
Unison Rep, Streetscene
Email: shane.c.davies@denbighshire.gov.uk

John Berger
Unison Rep, Cefndy Healthcare - 01824 706005

Mark Williams
Street Lighting
Email: Mark.W.Williams@denbighshire.gov.uk


Care first

Care first is designed to help you with a wide range of work, family and personal issues. The service is free of charge for you to use and you don't need to ask your manager to use it.

To contact Care first, please call 0800 174 319 or alternatively, access this service confidentially online at Care First: Lifestyle (external website)

Username and password details can be accessed via the Occupational Health page on the Intranet (LINC) or by asking your line manager, Occupational Health or Human Resources.


Mental Health First Aid Wales Logo Time To Change Wales Logo